The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-30-2007, 10:38 PM   #1
semperfidoordie
Fix It Till It's Broke

Unhappy Couple of problems

So I've posted before but haven't really gotten anything resolved yet. I have a 72 C-10 with the typical front disc and rear drum brakes. I have very minimal stopping power at all I've tried bleeding the brakes, I've made sure that the lines aren't messed up and I've even done the dummy check to make sure there is brake fluid in the master cylinder. I was wondering because the springs and what not are all rusted if that was the problem or if it could be something else. I'm not sure what else to look for. I'm new at this whole thing so sorry if it's a dumb question.

Also my tranny is screwy. It's a TH350 well whenever I put it in Drive it starts out in third and drives like crap. So I normally have to put it in L1, then L2 then D. So basically manually shifting from 1st to 2nd to 3rd. Didn't know why it's doing that. I've checked the line to the tranny, and the governor and can't think of anything else...a friend had said to check the vacuum line but I'm not really sure how to do that. Any advice...??? sorry if this is all dumb newbie stuff but well...i'm a newbie haha thanks for any help. If you wanted to call to explain it better or had the time to that would be appreciated too. PM me if you would over the phone walk me through something. The problem is I have to get it registered and plated before we deploy in September and being in the Marine Corps and working crazy hours sure is a pain with fixing a truck up a little. So that is my major push to get things done. Thanks again

Tony
semperfidoordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 10:43 PM   #2