The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-28-2007, 04:40 PM   #1
xtreme80
Wishin' I had more money!

Replacing Valve Seals tomorrow, tips?

I've never done this before, so any tips would be helpful.

We're keeping the heads on the truck. Gonna use compressed air in the chambers to keep the valves up.

Do I just pull the old seals out with a pick, and push the new ones in? Should I pre-lube them? I'm doing all 16 so I wanna make sure I do it right.

I guess next question would be about how to adjust valve lash once I get it all back together? My dad doesn't use any special tools to do it, but he's been a tech for 30 years. I don't know if my lack of experience should require me to use special tools.

Any other tips and tricks are more than welcome, so I can get this done right the first time and drive my truck home tomorrow.
xtreme80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 05:06 PM   #2
Duro5341

Re: Replacing Valve Seals tomorrow, tips?

Slow and steady wins the race...

Put a coat of fresh oil on them, so they slide nicely.

When doing valve lash after initial tightning. Start engine, and tighten down all lifters just until they stop rattling. Then it's half a turn 180degrees after they stop making noise

Duro
-1979 Monte Carlo, 350, 200r4, 3.73 posi
-1987 GT T-top Mustang - slow moving project
Duro5341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 06:58 PM   #3
xtreme80

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duro5341 View Post
Slow and steady wins the race...

Put a coat of fresh oil on them, so they slide nicely.