The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-20-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
bulkin'up73chevy

Timing issues?

Hi guys been a long time since i've posted on here the whole busy life thing keeps tying me up.

I finally pulled my 86 out of the shop to get her going again. And low and behold that mean dealing with the issues that hid her there in the first place.

Truck info.

1986 C20
second owner
california emissions.
350 rochester carb on top.
There is no ecu. just smog equipment.

The Problem

3 years ago the truck started missing/backfiring. throwing fire out the exhaust horribly. and up the top. I took the truck to a local shop seeing as i'm no expert just a usual diy.er. They first said the cam was bad. pulled it out inspected it, and it was fine. rebuilt the carb. Put a new timing chain on. adjusted timing. same problem.... called me a month later and told me to get it off there lot with no change. and stole my exhaust. Now getting back into her. Today I put fresh fuel, and oil. and she sounds alright but still the same as 3 years ago. any idea to the issue?
77 GMC FLATBED 502 CADDY BB.
85 CHEVY BLAZER (wrecked)
86 CHEVY LB 2WD 77,000 ORIGINAL MILES
86 RX7 "SOLD"
88 RX7 "SOLD"
88 SUPRA "SCRAPPED" DIVORCE SUCKS
2003 HONDA CBR 600 F4I "SOLD" DIVORCE SUCKS
bulkin'up73chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:21 AM   #2
old Rusty C10
Robert Olson Transport

Re: Timing issues?

the distributor? or at least the module in it.. ive had issues with KEM brand modules where they have been bad right from the parts store

1951 International running on a squarebody chassis