The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-15-2016, 01:40 PM   #1
Sebambam

looking to build a Pickup, what model should i use?

Hi guys
1st of all thanks for having me here..
Im new to the chevy truck/Pickup scene, but im a GM A-Body guy (68 Buick GS)

i would like to get some input on my plan...

I would like to BUDGET build myself a daily dirver Patina/Protouring style Pickup, with DEFINITLY BIG tires in the rear (definitly bigger than 295"s..lol)

I have a full 01' GMC YUKON to pull parts from so i would like to go LS Motor and possibly reuse the trans etc.

So 1st question
what Pickup should i use? i dont mind longbed but prefer short bed of course
Im looking for a truck that i can get basicly everything out there on the aftermarket. ( i had big issues with my buick build regarding this)

the Car will be a Cool daily, so doesnt need to be top notch high performance,
of course i wanna beef it up and i will take the LS (Lm7 5.3) and work with it a bit (Cam, Headers, computer adjustments etc)
I want to keep the build pretty simple and possibly find a Pickup with great panels and a nice patina.. (im in CALI so there be a lot arround)
I know that the fuel system will have to be updated etc.
Front Discs are a must as well.

What models carry what rearend?
what model/Frame is good for such a build?

can i reuse the rear end and driveshaft of the Yukon maybe??

As mentioned above i would like to put big rubbers on the rear, slam the truck a bit ( Budget!! no costly Airride, even though Airride is cool but probably to expensive)
So Tubbing the bed is already in the plan since thats basicly the way to go for big rubber i heard?!