The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-04-2009, 08:17 PM   #1
63deluxfleet

Help me with my carb (iknow iknow) lol

well now that i have to have my truck as a daily driver, i have noticed she needs some fine tuning. this is my first experience with a carberated motor. so i have a question. how come in the morning when i want to start the truck, i have to take the air cleaner off and flip this flap over? it wont start unless it flipped. is something making it stick or is it hooked up wrong? after i do that it runs fine all day. idk much about carbs but im willing to learn so any help is appreciated.. also what is the function of this rod?? it seems like it has no use. thanks in advance
Attached Images

.......THE ROAD TO HELL IS PAVED WITH GOOD INTENTIONS.....

Last edited by 63deluxfleet; 12-04-2009 at 08:18 PM.
63deluxfleet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 08:37 PM   #2
xratt

Re: Help me with my carb (iknow iknow) lol

The lower rod on the side of the carb. I believe is for the transmission kick down. Kicks in passing gear. Theupper rod is hooked to the gas pedal.

And the flap inside the carb. is called the choke. Mine is manual, pulled by a cable mounted on the dash. More modern ones have and electric choke setup. I'm lucky, in Florida I dont even need a choke.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...9&goto=newpost

Last edited by xratt; 12-04-2009 at 08:42 PM.
xratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 08:46 PM   #3
markeb01
Senior Enthusiast