The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-26-2009, 06:47 PM   #1
MTCHEVY

To bag or not to bag...Help

Hi Guys,
So I am really on the fence about going with an air suspension. I really want to take advantage of Thorbecke Bros. front end kit special that ends on the 31st but I just can’t pull the trigger. I have been scouring this site for two months now but still have some hang ups, my big fear now is that I will spend a bunch of money on a system and then find myself constantly under the truck with a brush and a cup of soap and water. I want to drive and enjoy my truck, not be annoyed by an air system that’s always giving me fits.

Here are my concerns:

-Potential for leaky fittings & system problems
-Wheel alignment?
-What’s the best way to air up your bags with out a system? (I need to purchase my system in stages)
-What kind of added maintenance is involved?
-What size air lines? I don’t want it slow, but I also don’t want it so fast that I can’t fine tune.

So how about some re-assurance for a fist timer ready to take the plunge

Thanks
MTCHEVY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 09:32 PM   #2
N2TRUX
Happy to be here

Re: To bag or not to bag...Help

Since you have done some research and you know a complete system isn't in your budget, I suggest build your system in stages.

Buy dropped spindles for the front, and cut a coil off of the stock spring.

For the rear replace your springs with bags and run a line to the rear with Schrader valves.

As money permits buy the suspension components of your choice to complete the system.

Articles-

"Jake" the 84 to 74 crewcab

"Elwood" the77_Remix

85 GMC Sierra "Scarlett"

"Refining Sierra"
N2TRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:04 AM   #3
six5