The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-30-2006, 12:54 AM   #1
carrzy4

Anyone ever put a diesel in a 67-72 blazer or jimmy?

Im currently looking to start a Blazer or Jimmy project for a daily driver. I wanna do something with either with good gas mileage or put in a Diesel. for you americans, diesel is cheaper than gas where I live!

Has Anyone here seen this, or done this?
If so, What motor did you use? and how tuff was it?
Old 04-30-2006, 01:21 AM   #2
72 CustomCamper
huh ???

Re: Anyone ever put a diesel in a 67-72 blazer or jimmy?

I had a 1984 6.2 diesel in my 72 pick up when I got it from by uncle. It ran great, would light the tires up and would get 22 MPG...

Chuck

"I am a bomb technician. If you see me running try to keep up!"
72 CustomCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 01:31 AM   #3
carrzy4

ya thats what I want to do, exactly. But in a blazer. Did you put it in yourself? what kinda mods do you need to do?
Old 04-30-2006, 01:54 AM   #4
72 CustomCamper
huh ???

My uncle di the work years before he gave me the truck. I know that he used an external electric fuel pump, he had to modify the engine stands to look like big block stands, and he used alot of the underhood wiring harness from the 84 blazer the engine came from...

Chuck

Old 04-30-2006, 01:55 AM   #5
carrzy4

Any pictures?
Old 04-30-2006, 02:00 AM   #6
72 CustomCamper
huh ???

I thought I has some , but I guess I dumped them when I put the big block in the truck...

Old 04-30-2006, 04:31 AM   #7
krue
Designated A-hole!

My uncle has an 80's blazer with the diesel. It's got a bad tranny but he'll let it rot before he'd sell it.

We're Still Debt Free Except for the House!!!
www.daveramsey.com