The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-07-2018, 10:24 PM   #1
Miles B

Slip On Floor Supports: good fit?

Hi

I have a 69 C10 that is overall very solid. The floor is just about perfect. The only bad part on the truck is the rear cab floor supports. Let me preface this by saying I have cut floors out of cars before, I'm a fairly skilled welder and floor guy. Normally I wouldn't think of using a product like a slip on support. However. The only damage to mine is about the bottom half of the supports: the horizontal piece furthest from the floor, and up to an inch up the "walls". Water and dirt obviously got in there and took out the bottoms. Above that, the original supports are completely solid. The interface of floor to floor support flange is pristine. I hate to have to pull out the interior to weld on new floor supports, and I don't want to claw the original floor up digging out those spot welds which are still 100% strength. I'm thinking about getting the slip on supports, and cutting off the support-to-floor flanges. Then cutting the original supports off 1" from the floor. Then completely clean out the inside of the stock support and floor, and use one of Fusor's body adhesives to glue the slip on support over the stock support.

My question is, how well do the slip on supports fit over the stock supports? Are they snug, or do they fit poorly? If I use the glue, I need a good snug fit. I live in Australia so I will have to mail order these. I can't cheaply or quickly take a look at them, they'll probably cost me a hundred bucks and won't be returnable. If anyone has used them, I'd like to know how snugly they fit over the originals, and if the bends on them look "stock" just bigger?