The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-11-2005, 03:57 AM   #1
NPilot1975

Welder/Plasma Cutter Advise/Opinions

I am thinking hard about buying a welder and maybe a plasma cutter when I get back to the states. I was looking around and like the looks of the Miller Electric Mig Welders (not sure which to get yet.) I plan to do some frame work, general welding, and maybe with some practice some body work. Hate to admit it, but I am a novice when it comes to welding. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-11-2005, 07:38 AM   #2
mrein3

There has been quite a few threads about this in the past. Lots of folks here will advise you to buy a 110V "MiG" welder from Home Depot for $350-$400. I would advise against that. I waited until I could afford the "next step up". Then I went to a local welding shop and spent a few extra dollars there for the better service.

I walked out of there with a Millermatic 175, a 10 pound spool of wire, an auto darkening helmet, and a bottle of co2/Argon gas for right around $1000.

The 175 runs on 220V, single phase house current.

I can do light sheet metal with the .024 wire. I can also do bigger stuff with .030 wire.

As far as plasma cutters go I have only used them in a vo-tech class I took. One thing the instructor said that I remember,
"When you strike an arc you better know where you are going because you are going to get there fast."
He was right. Those things cut fast. However in my home shop I still haven't got to a place where I said to myself that I wished I had a plasma cutter.