The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-17-2015, 02:21 AM   #1
Coronadj

69 C10 Prerunner project

So Im new to this whole forums thing... So my bad if I make some mistakes. But I want to start my first project truck its a 1969 C10 that i got for $800. Im only 16 and still in high school but what I have in mind is to lift my truck its a 2wd so its kind of hard to do it. But I been searching on how to do it and I kind of know what I need. My truck was a old forest truck like a park ranger truck it had tool boxes in the bed and 411 gears in the rear with a posi. It also has a 250 with a sm465 and heavy duty coils all the way around. But I've been searching for parts and I came up on craigs some 88-98 c1500/c2500 4" inch lift spindles and upper control arm from fabtech. So my question is can I use the spindle and the upper control arm on my truck and for the lower control arm I just get a c20 lower control arm?

its a slow moving project so... I won't be posting progress right away. But I'm not trying to do anything crazy I just want to lift it so I have some ground clearance and to have a lil fun in the sand and dirt. I race drag banshees at glamis, dumont dunes, and pismo so I need some clearance and to put some 33-35" tires.
Coronadj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 06:36 AM   #2
JointTech

Re: 69 C10 Prerunner project

about the best lift for a 2wd is heavy duty 1-ton springs. Otherwise you are getting into suspension swap to something newer. I havent seen a 2wd lift kit for our year trucks. The 1ton springs arent going to get you anywhere near prerunner stance though. well maybe if you removed the rear springs completely.
JointTech is offline   Reply With Quote