The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-19-2004, 02:06 AM   #1
glock35ipsc
Next project: 1970 K10

Need fast answer please! 72 front crossmember removal question..

First light on Saturady morning, I will be removing the entire disc brake front crossmember from a 72 C10. I bought the whole front suspension including power steering set-up and master cylinder/booster/prop valve to install in the Project 68.

He is removing the engine, transmission, and the whole front clip tomorrow, so I will have unlimited access to the crossmember. I want to unbolt it and roll it out as a unit.

Question: Will I need to remove the coil springs, or will the stay in place? I've never done this type of surgery before, so I don't know what to expect. I want to keep as much of it in tact as possible. Where and what do I need to unbolt and/or remove?

From what I have gathered so far: I will need to unbolt the idler arm from the frame, either remove the steering gear from the frame or remove the pitman arm from the center link as well as the steering shaft, disconnect brake lines where needed, and unbolt from the frame. How many places is it bolted to the frame on each side?

I have searched the boeard for awhile now and can't fine the exact answer I am looking for, so I'm sorry in advance if this is a redundant question!

Project 68 ....... soon to have power disc brakes and power steering!

Thanks in advance!!!!!

1970 Chevy K10 LWB "Goldie" 350/TH350 next project!!
1981 Chevy C10 LWB 355/TH350 - My son's truck

LS SWAP FORUM! Tons of LS swap info here!
PLEASE CLICK HERE TO SUPPORT THE GREATEST BOARD ON THE NET!
CLICK HERE FOR THE FAQ INDEX by KRUE
glock35ipsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:15 AM   #2