The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-11-2015, 09:17 PM   #1
rotor_kin

Intro and Valve Adjustment Help

Hello all,

I've been poking around the forum for a couple of months now, learning a ton about my new (to me) 71 c20 pickup with a 402 and TH400. As a quick backstory (jump to the last paragraph if you wanna skip the story and get to the goods)

Bought the truck in Christmas eve for a great price. Drove the truck same day back to fort worth and changed the oil, checked fluids, and got some new tires. The next week I drove it the 200 miles down to Austin and the truck ran like a top and didn't skip a beat, I was so proud of it! Since then I've been fixing small things here and there like carrier bearing, heater fan, etc...

As of late I have been digging into one issue thats been lingering which is a pretty rough idle. The idle mix screws seem to make little difference, and turning the idle speed below about 900rpm ends up stalling out every once in a while at a traffic light. The truck runs well outside of this, however I am also not quite sure the secondaries are opening on the quadrajet.