The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-07-2016, 10:20 AM   #1
Sim6

I've been humbled, need wiring help

Okay, so I thought the wiring was a breeze on this EZ Wire Harness kit. I followed the instructions, slapped the cables on the battery and.........nothing. I have zilch, except the main batt stud on my starter solenoid. Boy this is rewarding. I basically have checked the fuse block and have no power coming in cab, or to anything else for that matter. I'm not an electrician but I can almost follow instructions. All fuses are good on re-inspection.

This is what I have.
New battery
New EZ wire harness
New battery cables
New ground straps, grounding the frame to body and engine to frame. ground down to bare metal and used star washers on all.
Used Alt (3 prong 1,2 & R+ Batt stud on back) R not hooked up just 1 & 2 to supplied wires/internal regulator "i think"
Used starter w/solenoid attached (Purple start wire hooked to S/ red sol wire hooked to R.
Used ignition Switch
Used headlight switch

In the back of the book it randomly talks about hooking the neutral safety switch to the solenoid. I don't have this wire hooked up because it didn't show it hooked up in the front section and I don't currently have a neutral SS.
I would have thought the wires on the solenoid would have brought power back inside to the fuse block. So first off where does my power come from on this harness? Solenoid has no power at either terminal with key off. haven't tested with key on. I'm sure this is a simple problem I'm just not seeing it. Any help appreciated.
Jeff
link to instructions
http://static.speedwaymotors.com/pdf/910-64017.pdf

53' Chevy 3100 5 window http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=660793