The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-21-2011, 12:11 AM   #1
J.Cagle

230 I6 carb?

My 230 I6 is all how it came from the factory in '64. It runs and drive great, but recently started running rich. I am thinking about taking it to a guy to either adjust it out( i am not a mechanic) or rebuild it. Should I rebuild the original carb, or is there a better carb I should upgrade too. I drive this truck daily, so I good everyday driver friendly carb is what I am looking for. Thanks, Jared
J.Cagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #2
66CHEV

Re: 230 I6 carb?

not sure what yours has originally, was it running ok before, how was the fuel mileage?
I have a 66 with 250 I6, that is my daily driver. i am running a 1 brrl on mine. runs fine but gas mileage is not great. only about 15 mpg. i have thinking of upgrading to at least a 2 brrl
66CHEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 01:25 PM   #3
glos55

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Cagle View Post
My 230 I6 is all how it came from the factory in '64. It runs and drive great, but recently started running rich. I am thinking about taking it to a guy to either adjust it out( i am not a mechanic) or rebuild it. Should I rebuild the original carb, or is there a better carb I should upgrade too. I drive this truck daily, so I good everyday driver friendly carb is what I am looking for. Thanks, Jared
Check to see if your choke is sticking first before you rip into it.
glos55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
Wrenchbender Ret