The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-28-2013, 12:33 PM   #1
apatz

Newbie Question

A little about myself i got out of the military 3 years ago and now that i finally got a house with a two car garage i started looking for a truck. What i have bought is a 69 custom/10 lwb truck. the truck is very solid except a little rust on the lower part of both doors and in the rocker panels. i will post a few pictures next. I am new to is the older chevy trucks. This truck says it is a 1/2ton but it is 6 lug front and rear and 2wd. THe guy i bought it off of says its a heavy duty. Can you guys give me a little info on this?

Go easy on me I am new to restoring stuff other than my dads 57 willys pickup which was easy build a Big Block stick it in and paint it no body work. Im here to learn as much as i can before i start the tear down.

Plan is to build a SBC and trans for the truck do a complete strip so frame work and paint can be done. Also the spot that will be new to me is i want to bag it also. thanks for the help in advance
apatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:56 PM   #2
Hawssie

Re: Newbie Question

SIx lug is standard half ton bolt pattern for both 2 and 4wd until 1971 when the 2wd went to 5 lug w/ disc brakes but the 6 lug stayed with the 4wd only. Do you have coils springs or leafs in the back? Probably coils. Maybe take a picture of RPO sticker which is located on the inside of the glove box door(hopefully its still there and readable) and post it. That will tell all the options the truck came with from the factory.
Hawssie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:07 PM   #3
JOJABOY