The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-04-2005, 11:17 AM   #1
red86chevy

Spindle install instructions

could someone post a site or give me some instructions on removing and installing my 2 1/2" drop spindles on my '86. I have never done this before. I have a Haynes manuel but it doesn't really go into detail. Also is it a good idea to replace the used parts?(ie. ball joints,etc...)

Thank you
Jeremy
86 c-10 383 w/ sportsman II heads comp 286h cam Edlbrock RPM Performer intake Holley 750 th350 w/2400 stall 3.73 gears with powertrax No-Slip posi unit. Just broken in good. Will get a 1/4 time this week.
red86chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 11:53 AM   #2
piecesparts
Parts and more parts

Didn't you get instructions with the spindles? In regards to your other question; howm many miles on the front end components? The balljpints may be good and you would not have to do anything there, when you lift the truck you can tell by using a bar to apply pressure to the joints and wheel and see if there is excessive play in them. The steering components will be obvious if they are worn out, due to play in the drag link and the tie rod ends. If you have taken good care of your truck and lubed it regulariliy then you may not need to change anything. NOW for the basic instruction to take the spindles off