The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-19-2010, 07:02 PM   #1
jokers_vs_clowns

Question Transmission Inquiry

I love old trucks but I am no mechanic. I know I have a minor transmission leak. Liquid is red and its on on/around the transmission. I checked the level of fluid and it say "add 1 PT" (yes the truck was hot and I went through all the gears while having the E-brake on) I practically added the entire Quart of tranny fluid and the level hasn't changed. It barely shifts hard from first to second but unnoticable from second to third. I have no idea if its the original tranny or the original dip stick. Is there another way I can check the fluid level without trying to figure out if the tranny is original and the dipstick was replaced or the other way around???
Engine is a 350 small block with a 400h tranny. At least that's what the guy said who sold it to me. Any tips/tricks/advice is appreciated.
jokers_vs_clowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 08:49 PM   #2
silverstreak

Re: Transmission Inquiry

The 350 THM400 combo was availiable in our trucks, so it may even be the original powertrain.
Some trans dipsticks are very hard to read. I have to hold the one in my Ford horizontal and level and look across it to see it clearly.
How does the truck act when you put in gear? Does in lurch forward at all when it goes into gear. If it was a pint low, and you added a whole quart, you would definitely see the level rise.