The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-13-2012, 10:03 PM   #1
66-PMD-GMC
The 60-66 GMC/Pontiac guy....

Rear Air Bags for Dummies

OK,
I have been searching and searching through the forums for pics and how to instructions, so to speak.
I am not into frame scraping lowered trucks and this truck is not going that route but I have zero experience with airbags.
Here is what I am doing.
This truck will be for my wife.
She wants it to sit lower than stock, have fat hides out back and have a "lopey" idle like my trucks and cars have.
What I have,
Stock frame 63 Chebby so I have coils now. I am squeezing 18.5" tires under this truck and the wheels I found will have the tires rubbing on the springs. I would like to give her a decent ride quality and get her to handle so coil over shocks are pretty much out.
My neighbor has talked a lot about air bags with shader valves and it sounds like an option that could work well. They are apparently small enough in diameter to clear the side walls so here are my questions.
1-Photos of installations?
2-suggestions on what to use?
3-Best place to find parts?
I am not interested in C notching or adjustable ride height. I want to set this and go..... simple and minimum maintenance.
I am also using the 3" wider fenders on a step bed.
I know there is a mountain of people in the know here... any words of wisdom?

Building Genuine Pontiac Firepowered cars and trucks for several decades.

Why Pontiac?? That's just me daring to be different.

Projects..

63 C10 Short Wheel Base fleetside (The Pro-Street) currently under reconstruction.
440CID 2X4 Pontiac
66-PMD-GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:35 PM   #2
SCOTI

Re: Rear Air Bags for Dummies

Quote:
Originally Posted by 66-PMD-GMC