The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > projects and builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-01-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
Kingjasn

Johnny Cash special "Maggie Mayhem" 65 c10 short step.

I have had this girl for about 13 months now. I got it in driving condition, sorta. Lights and wiring were iffy, and only worked about half the trip home (which was after dark! spOOky) I wish I had taken pics of the wiring process, but basically, I just went medieval and snatched ALL the wires out. I have some of the original stuff left if anyone might need something. I got the wiring done correctly the first time, and that kinda surprised me. I am a diesel mechanic for a garbage company, so I have the confidence to do the things I want to mechanically, but body, wires, and "bling" are some things I am going to have to teach myself.

The plan was to just get her to a daily driver stage, and take care of it. I guess I am not the first person to change my mind on that thought. I decided to do a somewhat frame off restoration, but on a SERIOUS budget. I am going to strip her naked, clean and protect the rust free frame (a rare find in the coastal south), fix the rust spots that seems like the factory installs in these trucks, and paint her satin black with cobalt blue cab top, hood, and details. Might kick around the idea of white pin striping also. I am going to paint pinup style nose art on her doors.

I am a crafty kinda guy, so I am sure that the most expensive part of the build will be rhino lining the frame and underside of all body parts. I have put in recovered heart pine in the bed for now, but I have connections with some people that deal with Ipe, a hardwood from Brazil, and I will be putting that in for the final. Let's get some pics up now.