The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-20-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
farmsweet

Hi flow catalytic converter

Any one running a hi-flow catalytic converters? I'm thinking of putting a pair on my 71 468cu and was wondering if these would quiet the exhaust down. currently I have 3" exhaust pipes off the headers to summit mufflers ,then turned down and out and I know I'm going to have to change them out for quieter ones cause it sounds like a gasser right now.
farmsweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: Hi flow catalytic converter

I'm sure Summit ,PAW or another of the online/mail order places has them.I see no reason to run them on one of these trucks.They aren't required by law and you'll probably get better sound with the right mufflers(meaning ones you like the sound of).There's noperformance or emmisions gain,that I'm aware of.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:27 PM   #3
skorpioskorpio

Umm, why would you put a cat on? If you were running a modern LS engine with TPI or something I might understand trying to be environmental about it all but you're running a 468ci, big block I assume, carborated I would guess. I'm not even sure that without the rest of the carb era emissions junk to go along with it that a cat will even last, if it is carburated. I think you should be looking at resonators instead of trying to use a cat as one.
skorpioskorpio is offline   Reply With Quote