The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-14-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
1980Dawg

Considering buying a '70

An old truck caught my eye. Its a 1970 4x4 chevy swb stepside. Its in need of restoration and i have zero experience. I thought Id ask yall for help. What should I ask the owner about it and what should I look for when I inspect it? Thanks for any help.
Posted via Mobile Device
1980Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
hugger6933

Re: Considering buying a '70

Have you any restoration experiance? What are your expectations from it ? just know you won't most likely get your money back from the cost of fixing it. Other than that we can help and have fun, don't tear down too far , keep it drivable if possible that will help keep you fired up on it
hugger6933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:33 PM   #3
1980Dawg

Zero restoration experience and little mechanical experience. I just like the truck. Thought it would be cool to restore it with my 5 yr old boy and pass it to him in 15 yrs or so...
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 04-14-2013, 07:44 PM   #4
69GWC

Check the roof rain gutters for leaks and rust, check under the cowl for rust holes toward the outsides then ofcourse the rockers cab corners and cab supports.

Then just go over the rest and remember its a 44yr old truck it can have alot of small thing bad that can add up to alot of money to fix.
Posted via Mobile Device
69GWC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:10 PM   #5
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.