The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-04-2014, 06:37 PM   #1
Mgicm

When do you just say too much metal repair?

Hi
So I bought this 'rat rod' and just didnt like the way it was done. Pulled cab off and wow..the rot! There is so much to replace that I wonder if it makes sense to just get another cab. Problem is that Im going for the rat look so the black body has to match the bed/fenders etc. I just think i am not experienced enough to cut out and weld all the metal. It really needs an entire floor section with rockers, firewall, toeboard and kickpanels.

Have any been at this point? Maybe I should look on craigslist for a cab to try and match somehow that is not too bad and part this cab out? Looking for opinions. Would show some pics if any are interested.

thanks Kevin
Mgicm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:58 PM   #2
vht

Re: When do you just say too much metal repair?

You can use sheet metal and make a floor. Buy the other patch panels and your set. It won't have to be perfect for a ratrod so it would be a good 1 to learn on. Look over some of the projects on here, there is a wealth of good ideas and some great fab work.
vht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 11:02 PM   #3
Kim57

I replaced my floor and fire wall with sheet metal. Takes a little fab but much cheaper than replacement panels and on a rat rod who's going to care.
Kim
Old 01-04-2014, 11:56 PM   #4
Mgicm

How did you approach it? I need to replace rockers, floors , kickpanel, part of toeboard and then figure how to weld up holes in firewall. It is like there is no place to start. Did you make templates for the pieces from cardboard? What gauge steel did you use?
Old 01-05-2014, 12:00 AM   #5
STOCKISH