The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-29-2015, 11:10 PM   #1
sefgonzo

Where to start 70 c10

Recently bought a 1970 c10 longbed .Its mostly all original with bucket seats.Not sure where to start with the restoration but sure it will b a long process due to money.I do want to try and keep as much as possible original. As far as my bucket seats go they are in pretty bad shape.Should I just have them redone reupholstered to match the original look or just seek some new replacements??Thanks in advance for any feedback.Oh and yes I'm new to forum but will b spending a lot of time here cause I'm fairly new to fixing up older vehicles and may have lots of questions..Thanks again
sefgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 11:14 PM   #2
Mmorgan32

Re: Where to start 70 c10

Definitely redo them. They are highly sought after and look really cool. Post some pics. Start with how it runs and brakes and replace all belts and hoses if needed go through fuel lines and brakes also look at all the electrical, u joints, rear end, wheel bearings. All the stuff peoe neglect over the years. That's what I do when I first bring home a new old vehicle.
Old 07-29-2015, 11:25 PM   #3
sefgonzo

The truck is in pretty good shape overall and runs great.The folks I got it from are car guys and into hotrods.Its already been dropped some and really a good start to the overall look I'm trying to get.But thanks for the advise on that check list ...will do....I'll post some pics as soon as I find my way around these forums still trying to figure it out.Thanks for reply and in redoing seats should I take it to professionals and is it possible even with pieces of foam torn out?
Old 07-29-2015, 11:38 PM   #4
Mmorgan32