The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-26-2019, 04:12 PM   #1
Perma71

1971 Wiring Nightmare

Hello.
The wiring on this truck is completely screwed up. It was running when the engine was pulled, but I can’t figure out how it worked. The truck has an HEI, electric choke, and external regulated alternator. There is no plug for the alternator coming out of the harness...crazy. The black insulated wire is green.
I turned the key on, but have no voltage to any of the wires.
I’m not good with wiring and don’t want to screw this up anymore than it is.
How do you think it goes?
Posted via Mobile Device
Attached Images

Last edited by Perma71; 10-26-2019 at 04:22 PM.
Perma71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 05:26 PM   #2
RustyPile

Re: 1971 Wiring Nightmare

If your truck ran before the engine removal, something happened at that time that created your problem.. No disrespect meant but posting a picture of a wad of wires isn't much for us to go on..

This site has an electrical forum. One of the sticky threads in that forum is a posting of downloadable wiring diagrams.. Go there, and download the wiring diagram for your truck.. Trace out and locate the flow of electrons path".. You can then post questions requesting more specific information. As for electric chokes, upgrading to internal regulated alternators, HEI installations, those subjects have been covered in several threads.. Use the site's search feature for that information.. This site is a great place for help with the problems on these old trucks.. You just have to be more specific with "what ails your truck"...
RustyPile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 06:20 PM   #3
Perma71

Quote: