The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-23-2007, 10:52 PM   #1
JHART
1972 Shorty Owner

Location: Stationed in Cali , born and raised in PHX Arizona.
I think i have a Vacuum problem - so naturally i have questions ...and pics!

Ok so .... i went to hop im my truck today with a buddy of mine and he pointed something out to me that i really never paid attention to cuz i am no expert.

When my truck is first started (Cold) the truck idles really low i mean like between 500-700 rpm low. I always thought it was the Cam thats in it. Untill he mention timing .... and idle setting. Well so i then played with the carb a bit. Got her to idle just under 1000. All is well right? Nope. I let the truck sit for a few hours then went back out and started her up cold again. Bam ... back to 500-700. Then it hit me .... maybe its vacuum related? So i pump the brake peddle a bit and whala! She immediately jumps up to 1000 rpm at idle.

Also when she is cold and i try to put her in drive and pull out sometimes she chokes out and dies and sometimes i can hear a little back fire through the carb. She idles so low sometimes when i come to a stop that sometimes she even dies from coming to a stop.

Only thing i dont understand is why would she run fine after a while of warming up. Like if i take her down the highway for a bit then come back to town none of this happens. She tends to studder a little bit on starts sometimes but thats it.

So i took some pics from angles that i think got all the vacuum lines.