The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-20-2008, 04:01 AM   #1
samwise68
FarmBoy.

Opinions Wanted on Engine Choice.

Hey all.

I'm not quite ready to start an engine rebuild, but I figure it can't hurt to start to get a tenative plan in mind.

My options are either to freshen my current 307, or build a 292.

The 307 would probably just get rings and bearnings, just a quick bump for it. intake would more than likely stay stock, due to finances. heh.

The 292 would get the same freshening up, with rings, bearings, possibly a quick valve lap and guide seals. It would also get an Offenhauser 3x1 triple single intake that i've been sitting on for a couple years now, along with headers which i have, and possibly a cam.

I'm leaning towards the 292, but I've always been bias to a smooth running 6.

This is intended to be a Daily Driver, worked like a truck is supposed to be worked.

the other basic specs of my truck are in my sig, so you know that it's a 3 on the tree, and a 3.07 rear.

Any opinions would be appreciated on this.

thanks in advance guys!

-Sam.

Quote:
Screw patina... it's a beater...Beaters are cool.
my build thread - Project Homebrew:
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=242993
samwise68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 04:09 AM   #2
bhoeger70

Re: Opinions Wanted on Engine Choice.

I would be willing to bet the 307 would get better gas milage and have as good or better power.
Old 03-20-2008, 04:50 AM   #3
Green Machine

If you do the 307 I'll bet it needs more than rings. My 307 ran good before the overhaul, but it had huge ridge at the top of the bore, took a .060 over bore to clean it up, not a problem because they have fairly thick cylinder walls. I think they had a softer cast iron in the block.