The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-12-2009, 08:58 PM   #1
Painter D

How to get more brake pressure?

My problem is that there doesn't seem to be enough pressure to the front (disks). What I mean is the truck will stop "ok" but not as good as I think it should. In other words I hope some kid never runs out in front of me. Anyways no matter what speed I am at or how hard I push the pedal the front wheels won't lock up. Shouldn't they lock up at some point? Is there any tricks to achieve more pressure?

It's got new rotors, new calipers, new disk,drum prop. valve, new hoses, new MC, New booster ,and a new adj. proportioning valve on the rear line. I've bled them several times and the pushrod is the propper length.

I've been driving the truck like this for 2 years without issue, I'm just wanting a little more pressure up front. Any suggestions?

'63 Buick Riviera ... AccuAir E-level, 20" Billet Specialties (Vintecs)

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=528853&page=5
Painter D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:02 PM   #2
SCOTI

Re: How to get more brake pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69chevyshort View Post
My problem is that there doesn't seem to be enough pressure to the front (disks). What I mean is the truck will stop "ok" but not as good as I think it should. In other words I hope some kid never runs out in front of me. Anyways no matter what speed I am at or how hard I push the pedal the front wheels won't lock up. Shouldn't they lock up at some point? Is there any tricks to achieve more pressure?

It's got new rotors, new calipers, new disk,drum prop. valve, new hoses, new MC, New booster ,and a new adj. proportioning valve on the rear line. I've bled them several times and the pushrod is the propper length.