The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-22-2010, 04:26 PM   #1
steverino66

I'm stuck - 83 column wiring for lights

My truck is road ready EXCEPT…
I put an 83 tilt column in the 66, kept the dash ignition, which works fine. I connected 7 wires from each vehicle column plug, color to same color with only brown hazard wire on the 83 column left disconnected. I studied 66 wire diagram and the partial 83 which wasn't 100% clear.
Headlights, dome, dash lights are okay.
Problem - can't get turn signals or tail lights working (bulbs are good, new wires on both, tail lights work with power attached directly to plug at firewall); right brake light works when depressing brake pedal; installed new dimmer switch, headlight switch, flasher unit on fuse box, new fuses all there.
Will the Amer. Autowire plug adapter solve this problem? Other thoughts welcome..
I had it at the local mechanic who said he'd need 6 hours labor to sort it out, so I'm probably looking at a whole new harness if I can't solve the mystery here.
steverino66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 04:48 PM   #2
bama63

Re: I'm stuck - 83 column wiring for lights

that adapter is offered by lmc & speedway motors just to name a few and should cure your problem it worked great for me hope this helps

Last edited by bama63; 07-22-2010 at 04:49 PM.
bama63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
steverino66

Quote:
Originally Posted by bama63 View Post
that adapter is offered by lmc & speedway motors just to name a few and should cure your problem it worked great for me hope this helps
thanks, bama-