The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-14-2010, 12:39 AM   #1
2bits

'86 Model Motor goin non-computer

I have a '86 Monte Carlo 305 that I picked up cheap and I am about to start up for test run, and it has a computer controlled Quadrajet. Couple of questions.

1. Am I gonna be able to start this engine sitting on a run stand with that carb or am I gonna need to go ahead and put a non-computer controlled carb on it first?

2. Generally speaking, what kind of stuff am I gonna need to replace to dump all the computer controlled stuff. Please save me the soap box for the wonders of computers and indulge me.

I am not an expert in the computer stuff so don't go askin me this that and the other, that's why I don't want to mess with it. It is an '86 so if you don't know, let the next guy answer Now that I said that feel free to run amok anyway haha

Thanks to anyone who can help
Attached Images

'74 Monte Carlo
'47 Teardrop Trailer

East Texas Classics Local Club

Last edited by 2bits; 09-14-2010 at 12:44 AM. Reason: added photo
2bits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:56 AM   #2
camshaftgsxr

Re: '86 Model Motor goin non-computer

What kind of distributor? If it's a computer controlled hei jump the green wire to the wire on away from it and it will work like normal and ditch the carb and go edelbrock for ease q-jet for gas milage or Holley for power, and get rid of everything but the Pcv valve as far as emissions goes
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-15-2010, 09:57 AM   #3
C-10 simplex
Account Suspended

This is fascinating stuff:

1) Do you have the original distributor?