The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-12-2011, 07:08 PM   #1
J.Cagle

3 speed column shifter into auto shifter..?????

Ok guys, sorry for all the stupid questions. But, I am new to this and run into new problems everyday. I went from an I6 3 speed on the tree to a 350 auto. How can I hook my original 3 speed shifter up to opperate the auto tans??? Thanks, Jared
Old 10-12-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
losthope

Re: 3 speed column shifter into auto shifter..?????

i dont know about on trucks but on my 54 ford car it was a three on tree and i put a auto th350 in it,the shifter had two rods to operate the three on tree i just hooked up one and you would have to pull back torwards you on the shift lever and count the clicks as you shifted P>R>N>D and then when you let the shifter go it would pop back forward and you couldnt move it unless you pulled back again, besides that i think you have to swap the column out ,but i might be wrong! might be worth a shot trying one of the rods for the three on the tree if you are just trying to drive it and swap the column later...i belive one rod you would have to push forward to shift and the other rod you have to pull back to shift!

"What that grinding noise?Don't worry about that it will eventually clearance itself!"

1966 chevy c10 Build Thread:http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=485977

1954 ford customline
H.A.M.B 54 Build Thread:http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/s...d.php?t=622142
losthope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 07:53 PM   #3
ChrisDollins