The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-11-2013, 12:25 PM   #1
jcblue

Where do guys learn their skills

I have been working in a shop for many years doing insurance repairs on cars.. I have a few progects going on and I just wonder where guys learn their fabrication skills.. I'm sure a lot of it is from just doing stuff and trying.. I guess what I want to know is, is there some place I can go to learn a little?
Posted via Mobile Device
jcblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:32 PM   #2
CC69Rat

Re: Where do guys learn their skills

Old timers. You can read and learn from books but the best way I have found is to just get in there and do it and let the much respected older generation show you how they do it. What they have figured out over the years of what 'works' .. not what's 'supposed' to work. Hammer welding, block sanding with t-shirts over your middle 3 fingers on your non dominant hand, .. stuff that you or I just wouldn't think about.

1967 C10 SWB - Project Savannah - 6.0/4L80 *Currently underway*
1968 C10 SWB - TOTY 2018, 50th Anniversary Tribute Project * Sold * Pride and Joy
1986 Silverado Short Fleet - Scarlet *Sold*
1985 Silverado Short Fleet *Sold*
2022 Jeep Gladiator Mojave
2001 Jeep Cherokee XJ 4x4 - Lifted, Built
1992 Jeep Cherokee XJ 4x4 - Lifted
2013 Honda Accord EX-L v6 Coupe 6spd (wife's ride)
CC69Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
mgkgmc

If your wanting to get into welding I know some local community college offers courses. I probably going to take some my self also this web site is also a great place for learning how to do many things too.
Posted via Mobile Device
1989 Swb Silverado
1972 Aj's Stormer