The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-15-2003, 03:11 PM   #1
Chevy409
Giddy up giddy up...

Unhappy need help fast, please

I'm a freshman at college now, only been a week and someone already cut a valvestem on my truck!!! Campus safety kinda sucks and they say they can't help me. On top of things, my work study doesn't start until tomorrow and even then i won't get paid for a couple weeks and I don't have enough money to bring the truck to a garage! Fortunately, I have a spare stem in the toolbox so later today, when my classes are over, I'm going to just take care of things myself in the parking lot. My question is: can put a valve stem in without breaking the bead and taking the tire off? Will it push through with some persuasion or do I need to pull it through from the inside of the wheel? I need the truck for transportaion to my work study tomorrow so I'm in a jam to get this done tonight. Any help is MUCH APPRECIATED. Thanks a lot.
72 with 69 grille and custom 73-87 stepside. BIG BLOCK 409, SM465, NP205, 3/4 axles slung under a 5" lift, 3"bodylift, 112" frame, and 35inch Pro Comp X-terrains... "BUILT NOT BOUGHT" Here's the site...
Chevy409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 03:19 PM   #2
67Fleetsidedream
Wiseass secured himself a BAN

Your way better off getting the/a spare and driving to a fix a flat place and having them put in the valve stem for you. Or you can have buddy take you. Get yourself some metal valve stems for all for wheels.
67Fleetsidedream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 03:29 PM   #3
COBALT