The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-08-2017, 10:24 PM   #1
Andy4639
Old member

Question Rear end questions

I'm new to these dually rear ends and need some info. Can someone please tell me what the smaller 3/4 bolts around the hub do other than just hold the center cap on. I also think all the lug nuts are backwards.
I have been told they are BUD wheels also if that makes any difference.

#1-? The 3/4" bolts where all loose today and several where close to falling out do they typically do this and do I need to lock tight them down?

#2-? If I take them off what is inside? Is it something that needs to be looked at on occasion? It looks like it's full of grease to me.

#3- ? Does any one know if I can buy some simulators to fit them?
What do I need to know other than they are 16" wheels.
Any and all help would greatly appreciated.
Attached Images

Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013,14 and 2016 Hot Rod Pour Tour

http://upstategmtrucks.com/

Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

LWB trucks rule, if you don't think so measure your SWB!
After talking to tech support at Air Lift I have found out that the kit I need is 60811. Per the measurements I gave them. Ride height of truck inside spring and inside diameter of springs.
Andy4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 10:31 PM   #2
69chevytrucker

Re: Rear end questions

going to say full of bearings
69chevytrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 10:52 PM   #3
outfield

The 8 inner bolts attach the axel shaft to the bearing hub. You can use loktite on these bolts. If you remove these bolts, you can slide the axle shaft out, and then get access to the rear wheel bearing.