The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-30-2020, 04:56 PM   #1
elorenzof

New engine build - 1st startup

I am ready to start this engine for the first time.

This is my first time doing this so if anyone can help me with my butterflies in my belly that would be nice! I am 99% sure i have the TDC on cylinder # 1 and distributor clocked correctly. This engine has been rebuilt for about 9 months sitting around. Do i need to pull the distributor and do the oil pump priming tool? Another thing, the exhaust kit i ordered from LMC does not fit my k10 due to the transfer case. So all i have is the exhaust manifolds no exhaust. would this be a problem? After i get it running i will have it towed to the muffler shop and have them deal with the exhaust. As for the timing everyone is different (actuall degrees to set it at) all i know is the basics.

Any suggestions please chime in i sound like a newbie because i am.
elorenzof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 05:39 PM   #2
wpavlis

Re: New engine build - 1st startup

Definitely prime the engine oil. I was amazed how long it took. Take your valve covers off and prime until you have oil coming out of every single rocker arm. When using a drill it is low enough pressure that the oil won't spray out or anything. You can also tell by looking at the #1 cylinder pushrods if you are on compression stroke or not.

I started mine and broke it in with just the long tune headers. Do you have the stock manifold? Someone else could chime in on that. I would just be afraid of where the exhaust fumes would go. A fan could probably address that.

Any pictures of the new motor?
wpavlis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 05:40 PM   #3
68bbc/20