The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-14-2004, 12:40 PM   #1
76sierraclassic

Unhappy Interior Trim Colors

Newbie here...

I have recently purchased a 76 GMC Sierra Classic, and it needs a little work. For one the dash pad was cracked all to pieces (which I understand is normal), but I'm having trouble finding one that matches the color of blue in my truck. I've purchaed one from JC Whitney and it is several shades lighter than the original. Then I thought I'd lucked out. I found an NOS on eBay, bought it, but it's too light too. I can't find anything on the back of my original that gives a color code that I can search for.

Can anyone tell me if there was more than one color blue for the interior in 76?

Thanks in advance,
Mike W.
76sierraclassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 04:37 PM   #2
swervin ervin
You get what you pay for

Mike,

welcome to the board.

You will not find one the same color as your truck, unless you get extremely lucky. Great find in the NOS unit. You got a winner there. Don't worry about the color. You can dye it. But then it probably won't match either. Depending on what shape the rest of your plastic is in, I would just to a redye job on the whole interior. May not be perfect GM color, but at least it would all match.

I used the stuff Eastwood sells to dye my dash pad and all interior stuff. Works great, easy to work with and lasts. No peeling or cracking. Looks just like factory. Make sure the pieces are clean from all grease, oil, armor all, etc. They sell cleaner, plastic prep, even primer, to go with the dye. Not cheap like the Autozone junk, but if you won't to do it right and only once, go Eastwood.