The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-10-2007, 01:37 PM   #1
bossrod

Brake Problem

I've got disc brakes in front and drum brakes on the rear of my 72' C-10. The rear brakes keep freezing in the braking position. I have a new master cylinder, an old booster and proportioning valve. The linkage from the cab to the booster appears to return to normal after the brake pedal is released but the rear brakes continue to ingage. Any ideas what might be causing this?
bossrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
Orange
Licensed to Thrill!

Re: Brake Problem

Sounds to me like your prop. valve is holding pressure on them after you let off the brakes. The prop. valve for disc/drum acts like the residual pressure valve as well for your rears, so it could just be keeping the fluid held after you release.

Mike can fix you up with one for cheap if that's the problem. (He's a board vendor).
www.bumpandgrindgarage.com

Might want to listen to another person though before going with just my advice.

DLB
Old 07-10-2007, 02:16 PM   #3
cdowns

you did bleed the brakes when the master was replkaced right?/well first i'd try cracking open one of the bleeders on the rear brakes to see if there is a pressure buildup //if not i'd pull the drums to see if theres excess build up of crapcrud on the backing plates preventing the shoes from retracting or if theres weak broken or damaged return springs
71c-10 350/2004r/4:11 lowered3/4 longbed/dead by hurricane

MEANING OF DEATH::::: SOMEBODY ELSE GETS YOUR STUFF

DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU THINK

TAKE MY ADVISE;I DON'T USE IT ANYWAY
cdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 03:02 PM   #4
bossrod