The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-21-2009, 06:23 PM   #1
nlped

TH350 that won't shift into 2nd

Okay, a quick question. I have just bought this old beater, which I was told wouldn't run, that now runs. It was a bit low on trans fluid so I added 2 quarts and it would pull like normal in 1st and Reverse. But when I took it out on its "Maiden" voyage, come to find out it won't pull in 2nd, nor will it shift into 3rd. When the trans shifts into 2nd it pulls the motor down and will actually try to lock up the rear tires. Is this something major, or is there something simple that I can check first? It does great in 1st and Reverse, and the fluid looks nice and red, but beyond that, I have no knowledge when it comes to an automatic.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ed

1968 Chevy SWB Fleet... Walt

1963-1/2 Ford Falcon Futura...Martha
nlped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
lolife99
67-72 parts collector,…

Re: TH350 that won't shift into 2nd

It's not something as simple as the vacuum modulator line being disconnected?
Maybe a cracked/dry rotted vacuum line?

Convert to disc brakes.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=444823

Last edited by lolife99; 11-21-2009 at 07:04 PM.
lolife99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:31 PM   #3
SGTHohensee

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolife99 View Post
It's not something as simple as the vacuum modulator line being disconnected?
Maybe a cracked/dry rotted vacuum line?