The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-20-2010, 09:58 PM   #1
Spackle100

Stock suspension help/insight

Hey Guys, this is my first build so...
I am putting on some new stock bits for my front suspension (58 1/2 ton) and I got a few questions...

This is the front outer threaded sleeve for the shackle. I received a new one (and threaded bolt) with the shackle kit I ordered from LMC. Would it be stupid to leave the old threaded sleeve in there? If I shouldn't, how do I get this out?
Outer:

Inner:

Second question is for the rear leafsrping. Should I remove these sleeves (in the bracket) too? And where can I get a replacements?

Thanks!

Last edited by Spackle100; 10-20-2010 at 09:59 PM.
Spackle100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:18 PM   #2
dwcsr
Hollister Road Co.

Re: Stock suspension help/insight

Question one, if you screw in the new pin and there is little to no slop up and down then leave it in. They are a PIA to get out and press in.
Question two, there is no bushing in the rear hanger, only in the spring eye and it should get replaced along with the bolt and nut. LMC shoud have them as well if not classic parts does.
dwcsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:07 PM   #3
Spackle100

Thanks! I checked the front and there is very little play so I am going to leave those in. As for the rear, thanks for clearing that up. I have new leafsprings and they already have the bushing inserted. So I think I am good to go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwcsr View Post
Question one, if you screw in the new pin and there is little to no slop up and down then leave it in. They are a PIA to get out and press in.