The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-28-2016, 01:27 PM   #1
steve aleve

New to Mix-and-Match Brake Systems

I am new to creating my own mix-n-match brake system and I wanted to see if I could get help from the pro's out there. I am actually pretty new to brakes in general!!! I have an AD that is going on an S10 frame. I have the stock s10 disc setup up front, a s10 blazer rear axle with discs, and a hydroboost from a mid 90's astro. I have the hydroboost hooked up and most of the lines that run along the s10 frame are there. I just need to connect the 3 lines (rear axle line, DS front line and PS front line) to the hydroboost. My question is mainly in regards to compatibility and selection of a proportioning valve. Does it make the most sense to use the proportioning valve off of the blazer so that the 4W disc setup is fed the same as it was originally intended? Hope this makes sense.

s10 discs up front
blazer discs in rear
astro hydroboost with stock MC etc.
______ proportioning valve

Thanks!
steve aleve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 02:05 PM   #2
PurdueSD

Re: New to Mix-and-Match Brake Systems

I hear ya, I'm looking forward to seeing some answers/advice here!
Old 06-28-2016, 02:05 PM   #3
HUSSEY

I can tell you what I'm doing based on my research. I'm running front an rear disks. The front and rear setups are out of a 2000 Blazer. Front has the twin piston calipers. My master cylinder is out of a 1980 Corvette which has Disk/Disks.

I'm not installing a proportioning valve for now. Once I get it out I'll test it out and if the rears lock up under heavy breaking then I'll add a simple in-line proportioning valve to the rear disks.