The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-15-2012, 10:55 PM   #1
OkieGMC

5 Lug & Disc swap

Hey everyone I'm new to the site, been following for a little while though. Ive got a 68 LB GMC that is currently 6 lug and drum brake all the way around. I know there are several sites that have disc brake conversions as well as 5 lug conversions and Ive also read quite a few things throughout the site I just cant make up my mind on what would be cost effective.
My question is to those that have done it, what is the best route to take to doing it all?
I plan on doing a 3-5 drop on it as well if that makes any difference.
Thanks!
Old 03-16-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: 5 Lug & Disc swap

If you want to drop 3 or more in in the front my personal preference is to use spindles.They give you 2 1/2 drop and require less shimming to align.So with a 1 in drop spring you get 3 1/2 drop in front.Springs also stay tighter in the spring cups.You can get the rotors in either 5 or 6 lug.The other option is to get a 72 up disc setup,rebuild it and use drop spindles.The parts are usually a little cheaper butit takes a bit more work to swap parts or the crossmember,then you still have to do the spindles.
For the rear,I would just do a drop spring/block combo and swap in a 71-72 rear.