The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #1
62lwbc10

Can someone tell me how to bleed drum brakes?

Sorry for the noob question but the pictures in my brand new shop manual are so dark and I cant make them out, plus the manual speaks to all kinds of special "tools" to do the job. Can someone please bottom line it for me? I have a new master cylinder coming tomorrow and I want to install it and be done with it. Do bleed with the wheels still on or do you take them off? ANy special tools other than brake line wrenches? THanks alot in advance.

Mark
62lwbc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:29 PM   #2
Dan in Pasadena

Re: Can someone tell me how to bleed drum brakes?

Doesn't matter if wheels are on or off as long as you can access the bleeders. You bleed drums the same as discs. I'd suggest you "bench bleed" the MC before installing it (do an Internet search. It'll have photos and be clearer than a lot of text here). Once installed on the car/truck you pump to move fluid through the lines, forcing air to the wheel cylinders (instead of calipers like on discs) HOLD the pedal down, open bleeder allowing air & some fluid to squirt out (catch it in a container to avoid a mess) then tighten bleeder and re-pump. Do this til ONLY brake fluid comes out. Start at wheel furthest from MC, do next closest wheel til you've done all four.

Clear as mud? Lol.
Posted via Mobile Device
Dan in Pasadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:56 PM   #3
mr48chev

I can't add much to the directions Dan gave.