The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-08-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
ItsRandy

Just a reminder...

A close friend of mine was driving his '69 Chevy long bed pick-up truck down the road about 50 miles an hour when he says "It sounded like I hit a landmine". BOOM! His truck shook and shut off for a second or two then began running again so he drove it home (about four miles). As he was driving he began smelling an acid smell. When he got home and opened the hood this is what he found.
The moral to this story is: Batteries really can blow up...big time. I have been working on cars for 40+ years and have never seen a battery blow up, I have been told it can happen but have never seen one that has. Hydrogen gas is explosive and only takes a small spark/internal short in the battery to set it off, so be careful.
Attached Images

ItsRandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:33 PM   #2
cedorris
1972 Chevy Cheyenne Super

Re: Just a reminder...

Wow! What kind of damage did it do?
Old 10-08-2012, 06:47 PM   #3
midniteblues

I have seen the aftermath of a wallyworld neverstart battery that went k-boom in a friends 70 chevelle... what a mess
'74 heald super bronc vt8. tecumseh powered moon rover.
midniteblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
GMCJOE

I have witness one explode first hand. A guy I know went to unhook a battery charger off one.... BOOM... Right in his face! Lucky dude, went to the hospital and had to wear some patches over his eyes for a few days.

1969 GMC SWB-350 SBC 700R4
2013 Ram 2500 CC Laramie Longhorn Edition-6.7 PPEI EFI Live CSP5 5” ProFlo Exhaust
GMCJOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:47 PM   #5
haminator