The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-03-2017, 09:25 PM   #1
drew8mc

New Custom Camper Owner... and total newbie

Hello all,

I am proud to say I am the caretaker of a '68 Custom Camper as of one week ago.

I've tried inserting an image, but the links not working.

What I know:
It has a 327. From the engine code I've deduced it is a 250 hp Powerglide AC motor. It is not original. The previous owner said it had a hot cam in it, but didn't know the specs. He bought it built as it was. It's mated to a 4 speed overdrive out of a later Monte Carlo. I need to get under and find the stamped code. It has been lowered. Rockers have been redone (although not particularly well). Inside front passenger fender is in the worst shape rust wise. Floor pans are decent. Bed wood floor is basically gone. The rest of the box looks good.

Besides the cosmetic issues I'm having one issue in particular that I'm hoping the experienced members here can help me troubleshoot. This is my first time really wrenching on anything, so I'm a total rookie when it comes to working on cars.

It will stall when put in D or R. Idles OK, but a little erratic, jumping up and down about 50 rpm when idling below 1000. Runs fine above 1000, sounds good and drives well. I just have to 2 foot it and keep the throttle depressed just a bit to keep it from stalling at red lights. Also, the vacuum brake booster will not work without some throttle as well. At idle there is no assist.

I've read as much as I can about the issue and I have done two minor things so far that have not solved the problem.