The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-09-2014, 06:07 PM   #1
opc patrick

what is required of a switch to the 5.3?

Ok… this may be a silly question but I am new to all this… Basically forcing myself to lean something new. I am working on a 1950 suburban. My goal was to build something I could cruse in with the family and still look cool and original-ish. When I bought it, it had a running and driving 350 in it from a junk yard. I purchased another frame and I am building it up with a mustang II and new TCI rear springs. I also have a blazer rear axle with disk brakes. So now I am questioning putting an 5.3 liter vortec and 4L60E transmission in it.

Question, if I go this route does that require me to get an aftermarket speedo? I am trying to figure out what all that engine change would require down the road besides just the pressurized fuel system.
opc patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:15 PM   #2
Indian113

Re: what is required of a switch to the 5.3?

You might have better luck asking this in the LS section! I got a lot of help when I put my 5.3 in my S10 from them, there's some pretty smart guy's there for help. You will need a electronic speedo or a adapter that will go from electronic to cable if they make such a thing. I love my 5.3 so go for it.
Indian113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:35 PM   #3
Angryman117

Lots of info in the LS Swap section. But for starts you will need a complete engine harness and ECU. If you have a DBW (drive by wire) setup you will need the tac module and matching gas pedal out of the donor vehicle.
Angryman117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:27 PM   #4
Aaronoregon