The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-10-2010, 02:17 AM   #1
wilberweb

Patch panel or filler

Hi, I am a novice body man. lack of finances mostly so I am doing my own body work with patch panels,welding the works. I don't have much experience in Body work.
my question is on a floor pan or any area that has miner rust, just a small area with a small amount of rust. Is it better to replace the area with a patch of steel, or just fill in the holes with body filler or weld up the small holes with weld filler? or a combination of both. here is a picture of what I am talking about
Thanks

-Larry

wilberweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 02:31 AM   #2
dwcsr
Hollister Road Co.

Re: Patch panel or filler

Rust never stops eating the metal no matter what you cover it with. If you replace the panel or patches it will last usually as long as you own the truck, But if you let is stay and just fill it or spot it the it will creep back fairly quickly. Replace just what needs replacing. I don't replace a full panel unless its all shot or is quicker, but usually its not. Steps are the exception. If a portion of step is rotted replace the whole step.

try to get this dvd it will help you in making most of the small patches and panels you need rather than buy them
http://metalshapingzone.com/shop/cat...hD&shop_param=

Its 2.5 hrs long and packed with good info on how to make panels with hand tools. It is pricey but well worth the investment.

Last edited by dwcsr; 11-10-2010 at 02:32 AM.
dwcsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 10:10 AM   #3
wilberweb

Thanks, Dave