The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-07-2012, 12:07 AM   #1
NW Task Force

Question Building brake lines........need some help

Ok folks,

I went out and bought several 3/8-24 inverted flare nuts and 3/16" steel brake line. The thing I am trying to learn/understand is why the master cylinder brake line connection bosses are so much larger than the 3/8-24 IV nuts? It looks like both bosses are different sizes.....what is the reason for this? What exactly do I need to adapt the 3/8-24 IV nuts to the master cylinder? I found some old fittings laying around in my toolbox. These fittings were used to "cap off" master cylinders for testing. It appears one fitting is roughly 1/2" and the other 7/16". I am new to the world of building brake lines......need some basic knowledge of fitting sizes and such.
Attached Images

Old 11-07-2012, 03:26 AM   #2
JumboAMONGus

Re: Building brake lines........need some help

i went with the power brake master cylinder booster kit , , then it was pretty easy , i know the reason for a bigger one to the rear i think is because bigger hose since one line goes to the rear and then splits at rearend where the fronts would be one hose to a metering block that splits to two smaller hoses to the front brake wheel cylinders or calipers
JumboAMONGus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:40 AM   #3
jfortvalley

there is an adapter to go from 7/16 to 3/8 on the master cylinder
jfortvalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:50 AM   #4
Rude Dude

The lines to rear drums take less pressure than disc front hence bigger lines
Rude Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:20 PM   #5
1project2many