The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-02-2014, 10:24 PM   #1
NeverDone50

Upgrading brakes on 1950 1 ton 3800.

My brakes are the next job on my project list on my '50 3800 single wheel 1 ton. My idea is to change over the front to disc and keep the stock rear drums. I don't want to spend a fortune, but I do want to do it right. Do I buy the caliper bracket and piece the front brakes together from picknpull or do I buy a kit that has everything I need, including master cylinder and brake booster. What's everyone's thoughts on either those options or are there other options I'm missing. Or should I keep everything stock and just add a brake booster? I'm fairly new to a lot of this and I bought this truck as a novice mechanic- meaning I need to keep it somewhat simple.
NeverDone50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 11:05 PM   #2
Hogger54

Re: Upgrading brakes on 1950 1 ton 3800.

You won't get discs on the front of a 1 ton, unless you put a 1/2 ton axle in it, which I'm not entirely sure will fit. Or put in a Camaro, Jaguar, Mustang front end on it. Which might not fit either.

There is a guy on here building a kit that might work, but from the work he's done on it, it looks a little pricey. If he even builds more than one.

Last edited by Hogger54; 09-02-2014 at 11:13 PM.
Hogger54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 11:39 PM   #3
dwcsr
Hollister Road Co.

We sell a 3600 and 3800 disc kit.
http://www.hollisterroad.com/proddet...keconversion38

install documentation

http://www.thehollisterroadcompany.c...converion.html