The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-22-2009, 02:19 PM   #1
Bryce Sills

Motor swap questions-305v6 to 350/350

Hey,
I recently picked up a 64 GMC fleetside with a 305v6 and a 4sp. I would really like to start collecting parts to swap in a 350/350 setup. From what I hear I'll have to get a new transmission support, motor mounts and a shortened driveline. I did a search and didn't come up with what I was looking for. I'm pretty new to this so I want to make sure I'm not missing anything. Do I need to buy an aftermarket trans support or will one out of a Chevy work for it? Is this a huge undertaking or fairly simple? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!
Bryce
Bryce Sills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:33 PM   #2
100%Chevy

Re: Motor swap questions-305v6 to 350/350

That's funny because I'm trying to find parts to put a 351 v/6 back in my 64 GMC!(It was a six)I need the front mount.
You would be better off if you can find a Chevy that's already got the v/8 parts on it.
For the 350 auto,you might want to go to a late model steering column as the originals are getting hard to find.
Mike.
100%Chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:48 PM   #3
jr's62

i dont know if this will help but, i went from an inline 6 to a 305v8 /350 turbo. we took the v8 motor mounts and drilled new hole in the frame then we made a new tranny crossmember out of a cutting edge off of a motor grader as for the drive shaft it is the same that came with the straight 6. everything seemed to work just fine with our setup although it is not professional looking it works very well.
jr's62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:08 AM   #4
Captainfab
60-66 Nut