The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-13-2003, 12:48 PM   #1
ianjenkins

Where to start?

Yeeeeeeeeeee haw

I recently traded a boat for a 70 c-10 long bed. This is my first project truck/car. I plan on restoring/customizing the truck but hope to do it in stages while it’s on the road. Right now, it has the original paint and 99% of the parts (except for the original engine - some nutcase put in a Buick 350 2bl). The body is in great condition – no dents or holes from rust. Rust can be found in the usual places (door skins – bed and rear tire wells). The worst rust area I can find is where the firewall and cab meet. Hopefully, I can address this when I pull the engine.

I don’t have the room, patience, or time to do a frame off restoration but I’d like to make the truck as solid as possible. I’m concerned that I’ll go about things the wrong way and end up spending more time and money in the long run.

My plan is to replace the suspension, brakes, and front end first.
Drop in a Chevy 350 this summer.
Finally, have a body shop take care of the rust and paint (inside & out).

My questions are simple:

Am I going about this backwards?

Will it be more trouble to prep the truck for painting after I’ve replaced all of the running gear and engine?

Would it be better and cheaper in the long run to disassemble the body and repair, prep, and coat the underside of the panels?

And finally, how important is it to clean and paint the frame? I don’t plan on showing this truck.

Thanks,
Ian
ianjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 01:37 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.