The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-16-2013, 08:30 PM   #1
msg

Timing and Tune Up Q's

I am working on getting the 350 running right and I am new to doing this.

The engine was ID'd as a 350 from a 1973 pickup from the casting numbers
Partial Vin: C5A146997
Engine ID Code: V0507TJH
Manufactured: Flint plant on May 7, 1973
Casting Code: 3970010
Engine type: 350
Year: 1973
Type: Truck

Carb: Quadrajet 17059206

...so with it being in my 66 I wasn't sure which forum to post this.

Here are some pics. I did take some carb cleaner today and clean things up but didnt update the pics yet. The open port on the carb was uncapped, but I did cap that today before running tests.

The issues I have been having with the engine mainly is cold cranking and holding idle. Takes a series of 8 to 12 cranks to finally idle. So checking the vacuum and timing is what I have been told to do, so I started today by doing the vacuum test from a port on the carb as well as a timing gun test.

My questions are:
Am I going about this the right way, in order to solve the cranking issue?
Is there a good process of elimination series of steps/tests I should follow?
Does anyone have specs on what this engine should be running, meaning timing, rpms etc?

VACUUM
I had it running for a while and then connected the vacuum gauge that read a shift between 14 and 15 inches. It was a slow shift that repeated. When throttled it dropped low and then came back to fluctuate slowly between 14 and 15.